Skip to Main Content
More >

Departments & Services

Welcome to the Prairie County Sheriff's Department Website!

Mission Statement: "To Protect and Serve"

Prairie County was formed Nov. 25,1846. The first county seat was Brownsville, now a part of Lonoke County. In 1873, the county seat was moved to DeValls Bluff and in 1875 to Des Arc. Presently, Prairie County has two county seats -- Des Arc and DeValls Bluff.

The county was named after the Grand Prairie because of the large open countryside. Located in east-central Arkansas, the county is long and narrow, measuring approximately 50 miles in length and 24 miles in width. Prairie County includes the cities and towns of: Des Arc, Hazen, DeValls Bluff, Biscoe, Slovak, Hickory Plains and Ulm and other unincorporated communities.

Rice is the chief crop grown here, but farmers raise soybeans and wheat as well. There are two large cooperative grain storage and drying facilities, three wholesale seed plants and seven bulk fertilizer plants located in Prairie County.

The county is noted for hunting, fishing and water sports, and there are approximately 17,000 acres in Prairie County managed by the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission. Natural attractions like the White River and Lake Des Arc attract many visitors who enjoy leisure and recreation.

The Prairie County Sheriff's Department wants individuals that not only live here, but who vacation to hunt, visit family or friends, etc. to feel safe while doing so during their visit.

Prairie County Sheriff Rick Parson, retired Des Arc Police Chief oversees his department and deputies to make sure the people of Prairie County feel safe.

His agency along with the Hazen Police Department, DeValls Bluff Police Department and Des Arc Police Department, the designated Arkansas State Trooper and the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission officers are the law enforcement in the county.

As most cities are too small for a full-time department, the department also has auxiliary members that help in necessary situations.

The Prairie County Sheriff Department is very transparent and wants the public to know that they can let them know of any strange activity, scams or any other police matter by calling (870) 256-4137, which is answered 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

If it is an emergency always dial 9-1-1 first.